top of page

Childhood Imaginings Made Real....kinda

“Tell a story! Don't try to impress your reader with style or vocabulary or neatly turned phrases. Tell the story first!”- Anne McCafrey. Hi everyone! My name is Renee and welcome to my blog!

As I'm sure you figured out, I'm a fan of Anne McCafrey and her dragonriders and dragons! Aside from trying to complicate my life, the reason I'm going to attempt a blog for the 700,000,000th time is because I'm trying to brush up on my grammar, spelling, and creative thinking. I also want to use it as a way to chronicle my "first" attempt at writing a novel. My hunch is I'm going to be a husk of the woman I used to be, but I want to give it a try.

You might have figured it out by looking at the title, but this particular post will tell of how I became inspired by a particular set of dreams I had when I was a young girl. I can't say what those dreams were about right now, but I will say that I found them very interesting and inspiring; so much so that I'm basing this novel off of them. These dreams occurred nearly every night for about a week. They started off simple and brief but non the less very compelling, then grew and etched out more over the following nights. By the end of the week I had the beginnings of a story started! I developed it more as I wrote it down, gave the characters names, flushed out their physical appearance more, and gave them a crappy story.

I was horrified at how bad the story had turned out that I didn't write much of anything for a few years. I had always excelled at writing compelling essays that easily got me B's and A's in school, I understood the basics, or so I thought, of telling a story but yet I was highly dissatisfied with this story. Finally, when I was in high school, I figured out that just because I had done well on book reports and essays in elementary school didn't mean that I'd be an expert writer right off the bat! Just like with many things I had to practice and hone it. So I did and still am! So with many revisions done I am now working on making childhood imaginings real....kinda. That's it for now! Happy typing!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page